It's all relative Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 22 Jan 2018 06:53:24 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Jan 16, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-16-2018.html <p>AM: 11+ miles with various runners that kept me honest.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 16 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 15, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-15-2018.html <p>Day off.</p> Mon, 15 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 14, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-14-2018.html <p>AM: Long run with a fast 5k mixed in at half marathon race pace in the middle.</p> Sun, 14 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 13, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-13-2018.html <p>AM: 14 slow miles with various different people at different times in JC park.</p> Sat, 13 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 12, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-12-2018.html <p>AM: Gym and then a short workout. Varied between 10-12 mph on the treadmill and between 2.0 and 6.0 on the incline for 3 miles. Took a 1 minute recovery somewhere in the middle at around 8mph. Trying to build my strength. Once I warmed up I was fine, but at first any incline over 3 can be a bit killer.</p> <p>PM: 3.5 miles</p> Fri, 12 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 11, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-11-2018.html <p>PM: 11 miles and then gym.</p> Thu, 11 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 10, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-10-2018.html <p>PM: 2 miles with Anthony, then 7 solo, then a couple at the track just for fun.&nbsp; Ran an 800 to help a young runner out.&nbsp; We got to the second lap of the 800 and he was falling apart.&nbsp; It truly sounded like he had exercise-induced-asthma very badly, so I told him to pull up with about 100 meters to go as I was sincerely worried for him as his wheezing was unsettling even for me.&nbsp; When we finished, I told his father who was watching at the sideline, but the father said that he was, &quot;just getting over a cold, so that&#39;s why he was doing that.&quot;&nbsp; Okay dude, you&#39;re right I&#39;m not a doctor, but your&nbsp;son said he felt like his throat was closing, he was wheezing, breathing short, and it seemed like the only reason he was slowing down was because of his inability to breathe...&nbsp;</p> <p>For his&nbsp; son&#39;s sake, I hope my couch-pseudo-diagnosis is very wrong.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>Anyway, finished with a couple other 800s, nothing super fast except for the last one running with a couple runners, and then ran 1.5 miles back to my car.&nbsp; I d idn&#39;t mean to run 13 today, but it feels&nbsp;nice to accidentally run a half marathon I suppose.</p> Wed, 10 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 09, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-09-2018.html <p>AM: 9 wet, rainy miles.</p> <p>PM: 3 mile warmup and then the gym.&nbsp; Did some weights, a lot of abs stuff, some rowing, but really wanted to do a decent run workout on my tired legs.&nbsp;</p> <p>The workout was a three&nbsp;part one.&nbsp; Started the workout with a 6 minute, 30 second run at 5:00/mile pace, and then jogged into a 6:30 hill climb on the tready rolling up to 10% and staying at at least 7:30/mile pace, then jogged and repeated the last 6:30 but in reverse down to a 4% incline while upping the pace down to 5:00/mile.&nbsp; Definitely happy with this workout.&nbsp; I neglect hills like nobody&#39;s business- it&#39;s easy to do living in Florida and running on pancakes every day.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 09 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 08, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-08-2018.html <p>AM: 5 miles solo.</p> <p>PM: 10 miles, a couple of them with Anthony.</p> Mon, 08 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 07, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-07-2018.html <p>AM: 18 miles with Anthony.&nbsp; We did a workout: 4/3/2/1 with 1 mile recoveries after a 3 mile warmup.&nbsp; Just tried to stay under 6:00/mile.&nbsp; Splits- 23:27, 18:05, 12:07, 5:56.&nbsp; I wanted 20 miles, but I was pretty beat up so happily called it quits.</p> Sun, 07 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 06, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-06-2018.html <p>AM: 7 miles with Anthony</p> Sat, 06 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 05, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-05-2018.html <p>PM: 9 miles, 8 of them with Anthony.</p> Fri, 05 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 04, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-04-2018.html <p>AM: only 5 total miles, but included an 8 minute and a 4 minute interval at sub 5 pace.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>Noon: Gym</p> <p>PM: 13+ miles, right around a 7:15/mile pace or so.</p> Thu, 04 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 03, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-03-2018.html <p>PM: 12+ miles.</p> Wed, 03 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 02, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-02-2018.html <p>AM: 10.2 miles total, 4 fast quarters&nbsp;with the group and a bunch of slower ones depending on the person I ran with.</p> <p>PM:&nbsp;7 miles on the treadmill with varying incline, then gym.</p> Tue, 02 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 01, 2018 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-01-2018.html <p>AM: 20 miles.&nbsp; 3x3mile starting at mile 4 with 1 mile in between at 7:30 pace.&nbsp; Splits were 18:00, 17:57, and 18:09.&nbsp; I was a bit lethargic going into the run today, so I&#39;m happy to have gotten some speed work in.</p> <p>PM: 11.5 more miles.&nbsp; The beginning of the year always gears me up a bit...&nbsp;</p> Mon, 01 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 31, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-31-2017.html <p>No running, had Christmas in Florida today with my friends!&nbsp; Plan on jumping back in the saddle tomorrow.&nbsp; It&#39;s been a nice break from running.</p> Sun, 31 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 30, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-30-2017.html <p>No running.</p> Sat, 30 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 29, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-29-2017.html <p>Gym again with my sister in Boston, hit the treadmill again too.&nbsp; Got to see my old place in Boston as well which was fun to see.&nbsp; It&#39;s weird to think It&#39;s been 7.5&nbsp;years since I&#39;ve lived there.&nbsp; It doesn&#39;t feel like home anymore, but Florida certainly doesn&#39;t really either.&nbsp; It&#39;s a weird spot in my life that I&#39;m in.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 29 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 28, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-28-2017.html <p>PM: Gym with my sister, wasn&#39;t planning on doing any running this week, but the treadmill looked fun so I jumped on and did 3x1mile at 5:00/mile pace with jog recoveries.</p> Thu, 28 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 27, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-27-2017.html <p>No running, skiing in Vermont!!</p> Wed, 27 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 26, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-26-2017.html <p>No running, skiing in Vermont!!</p> Tue, 26 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 25, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-25-2017.html <p>No running, Merry Christmas!</p> Mon, 25 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 24, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-24-2017.html Noon: 28 degrees, but it felt good. I ran pretty hard and got progressively faster. Ran up in the mountains which was a nice, icy change from 80 degrees, humid, and flat. Sun, 24 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 23, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-23-2017.html AM: 10+ miles with Anthony. Sat, 23 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 22, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-22-2017.html PM: 10+ miles solo. Fri, 22 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 21, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-21-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles total with 4x1 mile repeats with 400 recoveries.&nbsp; Waned a bit, starting at 5:14, 5:18, 5:22, then 5:31.&nbsp; I can&#39;t say I&#39;m proud of any of that, but it&#39;s time to start making it hurt.&nbsp; Very humbling track experience- thankful no one was there to witness it.</p> Thu, 21 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 20, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-20-2017.html <p>PM: 10.1 miles solo.</p> Wed, 20 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 19, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-19-2017.html <p>AM: 11 miles, because, well... the miles won&#39;t just run themselves you know!&nbsp; Most were fast, but only 1 was legitimate.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>PM: 10 miles total, 3 fast or on inclines on the treadmill.&nbsp; Also did the gym- mostly leg and abs.</p> Tue, 19 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 18, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-18-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles, 6 with Anthony.&nbsp; Low 7&#39;s.</p> <body id="cke_pastebin" style="position: absolute; top: 10px; width: 1px; height: 180px; overflow: hidden; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; left: -1000px;"> <p><span class="ng-binding" data-functional-selector="game-pin" ng-bind-html="gamePin" style="font-weight: 700; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: montserrat, &quot;helvetica neue&quot;, helvetica, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 100px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);">7804377</span></p> <p>&nbsp;</p> </body> Mon, 18 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 17, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-17-2017.html <p>AM: 20 miles, 8&nbsp;of them with Anthony.</p> Sun, 17 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 16, 2017 http://mikem.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-16-2017.html <p>AM: 5 miles with some older lady- never did catch her name.</p> Sat, 16 Dec 2017 07:00:00